Let’s Eat Eggs…

Would you like your eggs poached or scrambled? Asks my friend cum colleague.. Ah..music to my ears.

Eggs and eggs and more eggs. I can practically give anything for an egg. My imagination says this whole planet is an egg.  Or an egg represents earth, the hard crust and molten lava strikes resemblance with the egg-shell and yolk.

So why am I so crazy about eggs? 1. I come from an ultra-vegetarian (not totally vegan) family where eggs enter home only for my dog. Lucky him. So, my theory says that you tend to do things for which you are stopped. Two-I absolutely devour eggs and I can gobble up a whole soft-boiled egg at its sight.  It’s like every egg on that supermarket shelf is calling me –‘come, eat me’ / ‘we are coming with you’ / ‘don’t leave us here alone’.

Since it is winter in North India, the weather permits me to eat eggs.  I seize every opportunity to get these oval-shaped on my plate.  As I said, I can’t have it at my home, so my work place becomes my nest and a colleague of mine becomes my mom.  She gets me poached eggs which are finely cooked and aromatic herbs sprinkled on it. I see it and welcome it in my mouth with a smile. And the taste of it compels me to believe “egg is the most divine thing god has bestowed on us.”

Closed eyes, I was still savoring the egg. And then I hear the voice..”do you want the same tomorrow”.  I look at her like a poor, famished with desperation in my eyes. Yes, of course , I would like to have some tomorrow too and the day after and after.

Just give a thought what would happen if there would be no eggs or if one day you open your eyes and read newspaper headlines ‘God has scrapped off all the eggs from this planet’

3 thoughts on “Let’s Eat Eggs…”

Leave a Reply

