Mozartising

I was a fool for not reading about Mozart in detail before visiting Vienna. Truth is, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s work influenced my life only after I visited Vienna, may be because I am a dilettante in this field and know nothing deep about it. To me, he was just any other music composer with a big name and hence, I missed the opportunity to watch his magnum opus ‘Le nozze di Figaro’. Shit. I was there and didn’t watch it. It is a shame. And how I reached to the realization that I missed something eternal? After watching ‘Amadeus’, movie quite loosely based on Mozart’s life. It however has left a strong impression on me. I was awestruck when I researched that the music used in the movie was Mozart’s original notes. Swept me off my feet completely. Even Salieri accepted it as the work of God then who am I. Every single score in the movie is exceptionally a great creation. While watching, a thought passed my mind that people who watched him live, had not even guessed that they were watching something divine. It is difficult to believe that in reality Mozart could be such a cuckoo (as shown in the movie) and a prodigy at the same time. Why do all braniacs get celebrated only after their deaths. I honestly liked Anotonio Salieri character played by F. Murray Abraham for his transparent jealousy and still being the Mozart’s greatest admirer. Few dialogues from the movie by Salieri that defined the ingenious of Mozart explained his obsession with Mozart.

“But they showed no corrections of any kind. Not one. He had simply written down music already finished in his head. Page after page of it as if he were just taking dictation. And music, finished as no music is ever finished. Displace one note and there would be diminishment. Displace one phrase and the structure would fall.” 

“He was my idol. Mozart, I can’t think of a time when I didn’t know his name.” 

“Through my influence, I saw to it that Don Giovanni was played only five times in Vienna. But in secret, I went to every one of those five. Worshipping sounds I alone seemed to hear.”

The moment of goose bumps, when Mozart drafts ‘Requiem’ in the end, the music of that piece I find was grafted superbly in the movie, even better than Le nozze di Figaro or DonGiovanni.

By not watching Mozart’s work in Vienna, I saved myself from committing a sin as I believe experiencing something like this should be done with full conviction and not half knowledge. And now when I am ready to know more about him, I’ll give myself another chance to see him in Vienna.

4 thoughts on “Mozartising”

  1. I am the opposite with Mozart. He was my first classical music influence. Then studying music it became ‘boring’ or tame to me after looking at 200 years of music since. But there is no denying the sheer genius in his music. Great movie and quote! Thanks for posting. Ive actually been listening to Mozart lately and glad to be back to it!

Leave a Reply

