Only for Women!!!

So here is the moment for which every Indian citizen waits for -The Financial Budget. The budget for FY2013-14 is out and brings with it set of joys to some and woes to others. Since the time I have started understanding the functioning of a country, I have never seen any one set of people satisfied totally with the country’s budget. There will always be a section of society cribbing and grumping about it.  So what am I bemoaning about..Rs.10 billion or about US$185 million of funds for women’s upliftment. For those who think Indian Government is not concerned about their women hear it out a whooping Rs.10 billion for us.  But what I am concerned about is the utilization of it. Yesterday, the Financial Minister announced that the Government is coming up with a first all-women Bank by 2013 end i.e. a bank run solely by women from top to bottom, additionally the bank will serve only to women as in not only women account holders but also women run NGOs, women run companies etc. My concern is this gender segregation no matter how well intended it is. Isn’t there enough gender segregation in this country already- special trains only for women, women compartments in trains and metro, only women policies etc. and now a women Bank!!! that was the last straw. I understand these actions are only for women safety and empowerment but what about the collective progression towards women empowerment taking along men of the same society. Just to provide everything specially for women is not a solution to everything, that will only make them aliens in their own country.  In my view the idea of all women bank is a total rubbish and should be discarded right away instead why not introduce the policies to promote women empowerment in present ‘Unisex’ banks.

If the idea of a women bank means increased employment for women then there is an equal dearth of employment for both the genders and I have seen more women working in Unisex Banks than men. And if the idea means escape from sexual harassment then how will you save a woman from another woman!!! I mean they are not always best of friends. I have never face any sexual harassment at my workplace but yeah harassment by women I do have seen. So, i would rather choose not to work at a place full of women. So, my point is I don’t see any strong change that this all-women bank will produce. I am an Indian women of modern India and I would appreciate my government taking steps for my betterment but I don’t want to go ahead in my life like an outcast from the rest of my people. So stop being sexist in disguise when I am ready to become a non-feminist. What I want is both men and women progressing together for each other’s betterment.

Leave a Reply

