I still love you…

 My dog bit me today. Like seriously bit, it bled.

I have a 2.5 years old Golden Labrador. His name is Coco. Though Labradors are considered to be friendly and easy to be around but my dog is bit different he is friendly but he is one of those alpha dogs who become defensive when they do mistakes so that nobody could say anything to them.  So why he bit me? he usually does not poop or pee inside the house but last night he did. So he knew that he had done something wrong. In situations like this I’m usually a calm person I don’t mind cleaning his shit because I understand that he’s just an animal and sometimes doesn’t realize the urgency of nature’s call. As I finished cleaning up without any complaints, I reached out my hand to Coco for pat.  I know it was not the time to pat but I am very soft at heart when it comes to animals I couldn’t see him sitting in a corner with a long face so, I wanted him to know that it’s OK it happens sometimes. And suddenly he growled and held my right palm in his mouth with such force that his lower tooth pierced in my palm. For a moment I was shocked and couldn’t realize what happened. He released my hand after 15 seconds when it was already started bleeding. My family panicked seeing me bleed and started first aid as I writhed in pain. I got some relief after basic treatment and then wondered why did he do that. I started searching on internet and found out that pet dogs can bite when they are either in pain or under panic which was quite true in this case as he was already under the pressure of pooping inside the house and he might have thought I am coming to beat him. Another worth noting thing was that they bite to only those family members who do not scold them or are soft target which was true again.

After all the medical attention, I was resting my wounds and went into my philosophical self pondering whether it was only the bite that pained..No!! I was more hurt thinking that I brought coco when he was just 40 days old and now he is more than 2 years old, I had fed him with my hands, sat by him all night when he was sick and at times stopped people from scolding him on his mistakes but is this what I deserve in return? The wounds! Those who have watched Life of Pi will agree how much it hurts when you get emotionally attached to an animal and that animal leaves you without any gratitude or treats you as if you are nothing in his life.  I am not angry on Coco for biting me hard but for his failure to understand my compassion and love towards him. I may be expecting too much from a dog. Well, he is not a bad dog just couldn’t get my emotions right but I still love him.

Coco when he was 2 months old.

IMG_0093  

IMG_0137

4 thoughts on “I still love you…”

  1. Sometimes we hurt the person you love the most, I guess that’s the case with your dog. Dogs are sensitive creatures they also feel pain, anger and may unintentionally hurt also when the lack of emotional balance becomes overwhelming.

    1. Yeah we figured it out later he had an upset stomach. But this is not the first time when he was feeling queasy, I am still wondering the reason for the bite.

Leave a Reply

