Disappearing Chivalry

If you’re walking with your lady on the sidewalk, I still like to see a man walking street-side, to protect the lady from traffic. I grew up with that, and I hate to see something like that get lost. I still like to see that a man opens the door. I like those touches of chivalry that are fast disappearing. – Betty White

I so agree with this thought. I don’t know what’s killing chivalry slowly – is it feminism or being traditionally chivalrous has gone out of style?

But I am still positive about it.

11 thoughts on “Disappearing Chivalry”

  1. Any girl would like her Knight to be ready to face any situation for her, be a force of nature and fight the fierce battle for her but on the other hand I guess in todayโ€™s modern era girls have become independent and bold. They like to fight their own battles and take their own decisions.
    The key would be for men to just be there for your girl, listen to her, treat her well and go hand in hand and fight.
    I guess i have gone of the page with this ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. It’s not about protecting basically it’s about those small gestures that makes a woman feel as a woman. I agree with the point where you mentioned the men should listen and treat her girl well, but only if everyone would understand that.

  2. What happened to the man-woman rights of equality and stuff like that?
    I am not against chivalry but I have not seen in any other country seats booked for ladies in bus/metros (even a whole boggie) that are being practiced in India. Practically speaking, it is too much to expect from the men.
    And yes agreeing with Juned’s comment: the girls on one hand wants to be independent and on the other hand they wants to be taken care of. Some even dont like being treated like so. I remember when I was referring to one girl politely “aap” … she got pissed off and asked me why am I calling her so giving me such looks like I disrespected her or misbehaved with her.
    As you see disappearing chivalry .. I can equally see women loosing their manners and values, The effect is mutual from both sides and dont know whats gonna happen to the world eventually.

    1. Then I think you need to understand a woman you are speaking too..as I am not talking chivalry in generic way like offering a seat to a lady in a bus or train but it’s more about when a man and woman are close or known to each other.

    2. I just met her .. anyhow .. understanding woman is more difficult than solving most complex maths problems .. for a geek like me .. may be its impossible

    3. Well most of the guys are afraid and shy while dealing with a girl … why don’t you start with reducing the pressure a bit ๐Ÿ™‚ rather than giving them the thrills :O

  3. I believe: Chivalry is not just a fancy word with a neat meaning; it’s a way of life. And how many are willing to allow that ‘way of life’, is the real question. It’s the fight between machismo and feminism today, killing chivalry or the very essence of it, silently.

    1. I agree with your point there is a subtle war between machismo and feminism although we refrain ourselves from accepting it but since we have some treasures like books and movies that take us back to the era when there was no war and chivalry was the ‘way of life’.

    1. Can’t agree with you more. But being a woman I have this stupid expectation from men to be little bit chivalrous. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for visiting !!

Leave a Reply

