A conversation

After watching the horrendous natural mishap happened in the Uttarakhand state of India, I am devastated and shocked with the intensity of nature’s fury.

Uttarakhand lies in the northern region of India beautifully adorning mountain ranges. This state is popular for its hill stations and pilgrimage destinations. Like all years, this year also, thousands of people visited to the holy shrines at Kedarnath, Badrinath, Yamnotri and Gangotri only to witness death due to the floodings caused by the heavy rains and cloudburst.  The whole state as lies in the hilly region is prone to landslides. I watched the clips of the destroyed region on the news and they are very disturbing. People are still stranded in different parts of the state without food and any contacts as the road network got damaged and any sort of connection is not reachable to them. The rescue teams are in action to save as many people as they can however nobody can estimate the exact number of people who may have lost their lives in this accident. It is probably in thousands.

This video is just a fraction of the damage that has happened.

It is an intrinsic nature of us – to complain even without even realizing our faults. In this post I am trying to make a conversation between an affected pilgrim and the God.

What a pilgrim says to his God after witnessing this whole nature’s devastation.

“It was an epiphanic day,

I thought,

My materialistic pains will be alleviated,

If I see you,

I took a plunge,

Crossing rivers and mountains,

I arrived,

With folded hands, pure heart and teary eyes,

I prayed,

Not for me but for my family,

As I opened my eyes I was swept away,

I was drowning,

 Amidst the yelling people I was lost,

    Soon everything was in rubble

    I lost everything for which I prayed for

  And with that the faith in you

Are you really God – the most divine or a monster?”

How the God replied to this harsh accusation on Him:

“It is you who made me God,

And now you are making me a monster

I never asked you to come to me,

I never asked you to pray me

All I have asked you is to help each other,

There are others dying every day of hunger,

While you were feeding your family

There are atrocities happening everywhere,

And you watched them

It perturbs me more when I see,

What you did with the nature I gifted you,

You did not value it too

And you are asking me if I’m a monster

Don’t go find me at far off places,

You will not seek happiness

I am there where you don’t want to see

 Within you

I have given you the power to find solutions for all your pains

Once you’ll start valuing things I have bestowed on you,

And help people around you,

You will not need any GOD to help you.”

6 thoughts on “A conversation”

  1. The devastation is catastrophic but it is ironic that people go to these pilgrimage sites in search of peace, to offer prayers, to be closer to God and if people are in any predicament they think of these places. We all know that God should be in our heart; this natural disaster gives us a reason to think about the perception of people towards God now. Will the perception of people change, or the historic rituals of visiting these places will continue?

    1. I don’t think it will have any impact on people. It will be in our memories for sure but after 2-3 years it will back on track. And this is not the first devastation occurred in the state so..it’s quite difficult to make people realize only some regulatory or government rules can curb the traffic.

  2. Five out of five. Such a beautiful, super intelligent, wise and honest conversation between God and the devotee. It’s so true that a believer doesn’t need to go all the way to temple since God is all around them. I love the cue from Lagey Raho Munnabhai. I watched the disaster and it’s heart-breaking. We can only pray that deaths toll is kept at a minimum level. I am so proud of the Indian Army and Air Force:)

    1. Yes Salute to the Army, without them it will be close to impossible to rescue so many people. But I wish more wealthy politicians and people come forward and lend their hand to the government right now. It is needed.

  3. well the landslides are caused by human activities like cutting trees — deforestation — causing loose soil — nothing to hold the soil — very easy to erode away by rainwater — I guess it has nothing to do with the people visiting the place for prayers

    1. Hey thanks for visiting and dropping your thought here.

      Visiting to temples in such high number may not be directly related to the catastrophe but if you see intricately, the deforestation and other such activities have been done to make the road network and travel smooth for these visitors. But in the course, more shops more hotels have opened to accommodate more people and the result is in front of us. So my point is why don’t keep a check on number of people visiting every year at least if there is any calamity there will be less deaths and less resources used in rescue operations.

Leave a Reply

