Embrace the self-knowledge

We spend our lives discovering the worldly knowledge unaware of the fact that the knowledge within us is phenomenal. There are so many people I meet every day who can speak for hours on world affairs and their superfluous knowledge acquired from the books but when it comes to define themselves or about their purpose of living, all the knowledge goes flat. Certainly I am also a victim of this human ignorance. I sometimes go astray from my real objective of life and instead gets too involved in obliging to my materialistic engagements so much so that it becomes difficult for me to take simple decisions of life. Well I do blame my indecisiveness at some points but more than that it is very unfortunate of us who are surrounded with gadgets all the time and I have been noticing that even for a small trivial life queries, I look up on Google which I acknowledge is absolutely preposterous because I don’t want to categorize myself into people who can’t find solutions on their own. I am quite certain that there must be many more people like me who have the ability to take decisions but has somewhere lost their paths for some or the other reasons. So here it is, stop for a while, take some time out, gather your thoughts and listen to your heart and soul. They want to speak with you, give them time or you’ll lose them forever.  May be Khalil Gibran could help us.

Self-Knowledge by Khalil Gibran

Your hearts know in silence the secrets of the days and the nights.
But your ears thirst for the sound of your heart’s knowledge.
You would know in words that which you have always known in thought.
You would touch with your fingers the naked body of your dreams.

And it is well you should.
The hidden well-spring of your soul must needs rise and run murmuring to the sea;
And the treasure of your infinite depths would be revealed to your eyes.
But let there be no scales to weigh your unknown treasure;
And seek not the depths of your knowledge with staff or sounding line.
For self is a sea boundless and measureless.

Say not, “I have found the truth,” but rather, “I have found a truth.”
Say not, “I have found the path of the soul.” Say rather, “I have met the soul walking upon my path.”
For the soul walks upon all paths.
The soul walks not upon a line, neither does it grow like a reed.
The soul unfolds itself like a lotus of countless petals.

4 thoughts on “Embrace the self-knowledge”

  1. A Mittal been looking for you..I mean ur next post and glad this one strike a chord with my tiny heart. Superbly awesome coz I am going through this lean phase and now I feel the soul need to speak to me. Decisions! O decisions! They are failing me but know I think I will get it right. Thanks for sharing Gibran coz m a huge fan as well as that of Tagore, Coelho and Rumi. Superb post:)

  2. Hey have been busy of late..and yes seems we share a connection at least in the area of making no decisions or bad decisions. But we are fortunate and lucky to have writers like Gibran and others you mentioned to inspire us when we are in desperate times. 🙂

  3. Well written. Very touching indeed. You have a great blog here. Keep going. I will be following around lot i guess after i read a few posts of yours.

Leave a Reply

