Duped or not Duped, that is the question

It feels stupid to get duped in your own city.

Today was my street shopping day with a friend. Anybody traveling to New Delhi especially a woman should definitely visit Sarojini Nagar if shopping is one of the things on your list. This place is not only cheap but you get defected original high street brands (well the defection is not evident from a naked eye); exported stuff, knock-offs, and stolen originals. So you see paradise for a shopper!!. Highly recommended.

With the description of the market you can make out how efficient you have to be in your bargaining skills. You have to bring out the best in you in this shopping paradise. I would rate myself as an average bargainer as in I would only say twice to the shopkeeper and then if I really like the stuff I will buy it :(.Β  But frequent visits to this place has honed my shopping skills, now I don’t give up that easily and have also even tried walking past the shopkeepers if they don’t agree with my price. And they call me back with my price!!

So, somebody who is a locale, knows the language, knows the functioning of this market and is also enhancing bargaining skills got duped. At least I feel so. A nice branded expensive watch has been on my list for long. So when my friend and I was buying some women stuff, suddenly we heard a voice “Madame do you want a real Gucci or a Tommy Hilfiger watch?” At first we snubbed him but he was persistent. He started taking out watches of various brands from his various pockets (he had like uncountable number of watches hidden in his clothes).

“How do we believe you, this doesn’t look original?” asked my friend.

“Madame this is original, but it is stolen, you will find the same watch in the showrooms for US$150, I will give you in US$40.” said the seller.

Well even 40 bucks is quite expensive in this market, my whole budget for this shopping was US$40!!! yes imagine it is dirt cheap place. So we ignored the guy and gave him reasons for not buying it although we did like it. It was not at all looking a rip-off plus it came with a box. We asked for more proofs for its authenticity and he showed us some hieroglyphic numbers. Somehow that guy sounded convincing. Even to my friend who is a lawyer!! So after 3-4 denials we thought of buying it because the guy was so pushy. We bargained and got him down to US$32 for two watches. After a bargaining rally finally he agreed and we felt victorious, we paid, and he scampered away.

After a moment we kept thinking if it was a good bet. We again checked the watches and this time somehow we felt those were fakes. Although till now it is a mystery to us if we bought the originals or fakes. Because if these are fakes then we lost good amount of money. And till the end of our shopping day we kept asking each other if we were duped!!

So getting tricked in your own country convinces a thought that getting tricked in a foreign land is no shame.

9 thoughts on “Duped or not Duped, that is the question”

  1. foreigners are charged ten times more and I’ve seen them being fleeced at Colaba cause, Mumbai. Hehhe! I used to do the trick of bargaining for half price and walking away..lol..jaani pehchani setting hai, Aditi:)

  2. Thanks visit my blog. Hey, as long as they work $16 each for “real” looking watches is an OK deal. When shopping in open market if I happen to pass by an article I stop and see the price. Then walk away. So let us say the price was $10. I would put something like $7.36 in a pocket and go back to the booth and begin conversation with the merchant. I’d express how much I wanted the article but could not afford it. Then I would empty my pocket on the counter of the $7.36 pretending it was all the money I had. Worked every time. So the merchant can be duped as well ! The few coins with the paper money makes the ploy convincing.

    1. Carl, this is exactly what an Uncle of mine used to do in the Burmese markets in Ooty, India. πŸ˜€

  3. It is quite possible that the guy switched the originals (that he showed off to you) with fakes (that he sold to you, finally!). When I visited Delhi last year, one of my friend was offering to take me there and somehow, we couldn’t make it. πŸ˜€
    Nicely written post. πŸ™‚

    1. May be they are just china-made looking originals :). You should definitely visit this place although I would suggest you to bring a woman along to keep your spirits high.

Leave a Reply

