Dwarka – Gujarat

And the holiday is over. This time I couldn’t get enough of it, I feel I would soon need another hiatus. Anyway, since Indian currency is depreciating against US dollar at a pace at which Sebastian Vettel wins his race, I am looking options to explore my own country which is vast and diverse in culture. This time I visited the state of Gujarat, a region which boasts its industrial development.

Gujarat is a place which connects to Indians through Hindu mythology, Indian freedom struggle, unique culture and food :-). Once you are in India you can’t really ignore this region as you will come across its name somewhere or the other. If you have heard of Mahatma Gandhi, there you go Gujarat is his birth place.

My trip involved visiting to lot of temples. Now to me Hindu temples offer lot of architecture excellence. While my family was offering prayers inside the temple I was at some corner zooming my lens to capture the intricacies of the monument; it left me in awe of minute details the architects had paid while carving each stone and chiseling mythological fables for us.

Below are the pictures of a temple called Rukmani Mandir which is located near Dwarka town of Gujarat. Rukmani was the wife of Lord Krishna but bound to a curse by a saint both Lord Krishna and Rukmani faced a separation of 12 years. She penanced for 12 years where now her temple is located away from the temple ofΒ Lord Krishna in Dwarka.Β For the reference I should tell you Dwarka is Hindu’s holy place, this is where Lord Krishna spent his 100 years of life.

IMG_0736MANDIR 2MANDIRIMG_0735IMG_0743IMG_0733IMG_0734IMG_0741IMG_0744

6 thoughts on “Dwarka – Gujarat”

  1. I value architecture and sculpture as art and appreciate the post as my western culture still celebrates Roman and Greek with inadequate respect and portrayal of such from other cultures like India. I enjoyed the photo post very much.

    1. Oh I’m quite surprised to know that because whatever Greek mythology I have read about, it has always generated curiosity to me. Sad that some people treats mythology as figments of fiction discounting the rich art it offers us.

Leave a Reply

