Goodness of pets

Say hello to my new pets – Mama Mia. Yes that’s their name.  LovebirdsFrom the picture it looks like as if they don’t know each other but they are infact lovebirds. It was their first day at home when they were quite wary of their new surroundings and so were kind of perplexed. Now after almost 4 days I know why are they called lovebirds. I can’t stop admiring them when they are canoodling each other at night. When I first saw them doing it, I couldn’t keep my eyes off from them but they are such intelligent beings as when they sensed the intrusion, they slowly contained their composure. Since then I now don’t gaze them but let them have their moment.

I don’t know if it’s true or not but it is said that lovebirds keep one partner for life. Since the time I have brought them home I feel so poetic at nights, they have brought back the inspiration in me. I am glad I got them home as they have made my nights utterly romantic and philosophical.  That’s the goodness of pets. And I want to pay them back, so here’s Keats (one of my favorites) to my lovebirds.

“Softly the breezes from the forest came,
Softly they blew aside the taper’s flame;
Clear was the song from Philomel’s far bower;
Grateful the incense from the lime-tree flower;
Mysterious, wild, the far-heard trumpet’s tone;
Lovely the moon in ether, all alone:
Sweet too, the converse of these happy mortals,
As that of busy spirits when the portals
Are closing in the west; or that soft humming
We hear around when Hesperus is coming.
Sweet be their sleep.”
John Keats to Fanny Brawne

4 thoughts on “Goodness of pets”

  1. Hi Mama Mia..happy cuddling..hey don’t look like they are love birds..but didn’t know they can pretend to be strangers. Beautiful ode Aditi and wish u many more romantic nights:)

  2. Indeed the presence of these little wonders brings in lot of positivism around u…wishing you many more poetic and romantic nights:)…Also looking forward to some good poems….

Leave a Reply

