Concept of Gender’s Equality Day

Now that the Women’s day buzz has settled down, it’s time for some logical ranting. It is odd to celebrate Women’s day.  It makes me feel like I or my gender has some special powers as if we are unusual and out of this world. But the question is are we any different from men?. I don’t think so. I am like any other guy of my age would be. I don’t think I am superior or by any chance inferior to them. I do not consider them different from me and nor would I want them to think that ways about me.  To cover up our shortcomings in maintaining relationships we have days allotted to some important relationships in our lives such as Mother’s day, Father’s Day, Grandfather’s Day, Daughter’s Day, Friendship’s Day but Women’s Day !! Why? to remind me of my gender?  This day indirectly tells me “Hey you weak, gather your strength and stop living an inadequate life.” Do we really need that?

I am not feminist talking here but in fact I feel women and men face equal dejection and hardships at some point of time in their lives. It’s just that the intensity of each others suffering is undermined by them. So for instance (in Indian context) if a guy of marriageable age is sitting at home, unemployed, it is equally stared at as a woman above 30 sitting at home unmarried.  The Indian parents would be equally worried for both son and daughter. But yes it’s a scenario of an urban household that may vary if I go much deeper in society. Now I don’t understand how would the concept of celebrating Women’s Day make females of not-so-urban society realize the power of their own self. For many women I know it’s just a day when they wish each other, go out in a group but that’s about it.  There’s no real awakening. In short celebrating this day makes me feel strong and proud only for a day and meek all other 364 days.

My point is we don’t need a day dedicated to only women. We need to incorporate a mentality within our social and even human brains that man and woman are just different in physical forms otherwise there is no huge difference in their thinking and living. I feel if women are so important to the society then why not just blur the discrimination between both the genders right through their upbringing and in jobs, marriage and other facets of life.  Rather I feel we should come up with a day celebrating as a ‘Gender’s Equality Day’ when no woman is left wondering if she has done anything special to deserve this because we have not, we are just like men.

One thought on “Concept of Gender’s Equality Day”

  1. I agree with your beautiful thoughts, Aditi and I find no differences between man and women. The stupid mindset is a curse to our society where we fail to grow as human beings.

Leave a Reply

