Beyond opinions – an alternative view on unhealthy relationships

Not always you enjoy healthy relationships around you. Sometimes it gets really difficult to put up with people in such scenarios. Most of it is clearly because people don’t see beyond useless arguments. They can go on and on bickering about the issues without any logical conclusion. From what all I have seen and learnt as lessons, discord is not always due to difference in opinions, but there are countless reasons which we certainly overlook during frictions. I can pat myself for being a highly open-minded person who always looks beyond mere opinion differences.

I usually have altercations with my mom. Often I think, how can someone fight with me so much even knowing how much room I give to healthier ways of dealing with a problem. But anyway, so when there is an argument, I don’t just see it as a result of different point of view, but I am also ready to believe the biological side of it.Β  Females being a more emotionally vulnerable gender, clearly are synonyms to ‘Nagger’. Well, I am a female myself and not patronizing them (or us). Men term women as cranky, complaining, nagger which undeniably is all true, however, at times it is not under their control since they go through hormonal turbulence all their life in forms of mensuration, pregnancy, then menopause causing not only physical stress but mental too that vents out by picking up fights.

Well, it’s not only women, I have come across something as Male menopause too! Yes, do you see a lot of above 50, grumpy males around you who do not show happy signs, male menopause could definitely be one of the reasons. Like females, males also undergo subtle hormonal changes that makes them prone to irrational behavior.

Similarly, we often overlook other possibilities of belligerent or argumentative way of a person before tagging them as “not-meant-to-live- together”.Β  Ever heard of Bipolar disorder which causes mood variations?Β  Gone are the days when this was a disorder of rich and famous and lonely movie stars. A doctor once told me a ratio of bipolar disorder is 1:5 in India!. Many of my colleagues complain of erratic behavior of elders in their homes who knows that it is Bipolar to be blamed for all of this.

In short, when you observe a certain behavior of people like picking fights, constant badgering, coldness etc. It may have got to do with any of the above. So, before judging them at least give a thought on the biological side of it and find a solution. Else, just treat yourself with quarrels everyday.

3 thoughts on “Beyond opinions – an alternative view on unhealthy relationships”

  1. Totally agree, these symptoms are typical for both men and women after a certain age. Difference of opinion is not always the reason for a discord. Although I personally dread these symptoms in people around me.
    Great read πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

