How often do you get attached to something inconsequential, something as insignificant as a torn old boarding pass.

I discovered a 2 month old boarding pass to Auckland in my bag and since then it’s been serving me as a bookmark to the current book I am reading – Among the believers – an Islamic Journey by V S Naipaul. I don’t know what joy this boarding pass gives me, I can easily choose a nice glossy bookmark from the collection I have but no..this is special. May be this reminds me of my first holiday with my husband.

I was on my way back home at the same time on the same train with same book and same boarding pass. The train was packed; I could feel the person at my back breathing on me. Nobody expected, they could fall in so much crowd, but the driver proved us wrong. With one sudden short jerk everybody toppled and there goes my boarding pass. It took me a minute to realize that I had lost it. I was looking at the floor so anxiously people thought I lost something expensive. And started searching too! I gave up after much hunt. But every now and then my eyes would roll down to see the glimpse of it. Alas, I thought it was better to let it go. As I was ready to get down at my station, an old woman lifted her foot and voila!!, there it was. Indiana Jones wouldn’ have been that happier. Quickly I picked it up, got down and comfortably placed it on page number 398.IMAG2494

Leave a comment